Leadership

I just read an interesting article on leadership, that I thought verbalized some very basic ideas I have on the subject.  The article is written from the point of view of Annapolis.  Perhaps I liked it so much due to the many years I served as a Senior Patrol Leader in Boy Scouts.  I want to come back to this list later, so I’m going to summarize it here for me to come back to later. 

  1. To lead, you must first learn to follow.  –  This is an interesting idea in churchs you hear about servant leadership, but this article uses a term called Followership.  I feel that this is a great term that more people should use before they even get a chance to talk about leadership.
  2. “I’ll find out, sir!”  – This response is given instead of “I don’t know”.  I think this is an even better idea than a previous idea I had which was that only wise people say “I don’t know.”  Perhaps the smart person says I don’t know, but the truly wise says “I’ll find out.”
  3. Dishonesty is not to be tolerated.  – This reminds me of Luther’s definantion of the 8th commandment.  “We should fear and love God that we may not deceitfully belie, betray, slander, or defame our neighbor, but defend him, think and speak well of him, and put the best construction on everything.”
  4. Think first, then stop and think again, then speak honestly without assigning blame.  – I learned this when writing reports in Scouts.  Always use the third person.  State the facts.  Allow someone else to assign guilt or innocence, importance or unimportance.  You are just providing information. “Just the facts, ma’am.”
  5. Do it for the team. – Don’t let the other guys down.  You are needed, and while you might think you are replaceable, at this moment, right now, here in this place, you are not replaceable.  Also, the inverse is also true.  You need your team mates.  They are not replaceable. 

Anyway, I would highly recommend going over and reading the article.

Leave a Reply

